Monday Mantra: I’ve Got To Be Me

Yesterday, I heard this song in some advertisement. I liked the lyrics; hence I looked for the original song.  The original song “I’ve got to be me appeared in the Broadway musical Golden Rainbow, which starred Steve Lawrence and Eydie Gormé. Later, Singer Sammy Davis, Jr. recorded the song in 1968 while the musical was still running on Broadway, altering the title slightly to “I’ve Gotta Be Me”, and released it as a single late in the year.

I heard it in Sammy’s voice, which is available on YouTube. The voice and the words left a mark on me. Words are so simple yet contain the truth of life.

Whether I’m right or whether I’m wrong
Whether I find a place in this world or never belong
I gotta be me, I’ve gotta be me

I want to live, not merely survive
And I won’t give up this dream
Of life that keeps me alive

I’ll go it alone, that’s how it must be
I can’t be right for somebody else
If I’m not right for me
I gotta be free,  …

You can enjoy the song here:

 

Leave a Reply

